Goodbye?

As you may have guessed from the title, as of today, I won’t be posting anymore on Tweens Read Too. This is something I’ve thought about for a long time, maybe the last six months, for a couple of reasons.

The first is that I realized my reading tastes are maturing. I’m slowly starting to creep into adult literature (though, admittedly, it’s a very slow creeping), and I’m betting that within the next four or five years, I will be primarily reading adult lit. With that comes a bit of moving on. I no longer read and absolutely love enough middle-grade to run a separate blog about it.

That being said, I still greatly enjoy the genre. There’s something about middle-grade that you can’t get from YA or children’s or adult or any other genre out there, and I don’t think I’ll ever fully move on from YA and MG lit. Because of that, I’ll be casually reading middle-grade when I find books I’m excited about and posting those reviews on my other book blog, The Silver Words. I also plan to hold Tweens Read August or some event like it again, but it’ll be on TSW instead of TRT.

The second reason I’ve thought about moving on is because time has gotten tight for me as of late. It used to be manageable, but I have several things going on right now, between standardized test prep and extracurriculars and projects and writing a novel and starting at community college. I still defend my reading time, but it’s not realistic for me or my schedule to be posting on two blogs all the time. It comes out to at least five posts released a week, sometimes more than that. Knowing what my schedule looks like for the next couple of months, I knew I couldn’t make it to the end of the year as I’d initially planned, so I decided to end it here.

All of those things aside, some of you have followed this blog since it began in June 2013. Some of you have followed it since a year ago, a month ago, yesterday, and to all of you, thank you so much. You can’t begin to imagine the gratitude I have towards all of my readers, and I hope that you’ll continue to follow my bookish journey on The Silver Words.  Thank you again, and happy reading.

BUT.

Someone else will be taking over the blog, and I’ll provide oversight and maybe even the occasional post. I’ve mentioned my cousin, another avid reader, on here once or twice. My cousin’ll be taking over the blog and providing most of the content, as well a bit of new style. Stay tuned for more info, and goodbye (for now)!

Leave a Reply

