Review: Once Upon a Frog by Sarah Mlynowski

once upon a frog by sarah mlynowski

Ribbit ribbit! Siblings Abby and Jonah are in for a surprise when the magic mirror in their basement pulls them into the classic story of The Frog Prince. Abby knows how the tale goes: the princess kisses the frog, and he transforms into a handsome prince. Right? WRONG. Turns out the princess is spoiled and mean, and wants nothing to do with the kindly little frog. It’s up to Abby and Jonah to help their new friend, the frog, while also making sure the story doesn’t spin out of control. But things are never easy when you’re fracturing fairy tales!

Description taken from Goodreads.


I had heard about these books but I hadn’t really tried them until I picked this one up on impulse from the library, and it was great to read more of Mlynowski’s writing!

Even though this was the first book in the series for me, I didn’t have any trouble keeping up with the world and the characters, making this a great series for kids to pick and choose which retellings they want to read. As a huge fan of retellings myself, I loved the subtle lessons to this story as well as the clever spins on the original tale. Although I wasn’t suspecting it, I also really enjoyed the twist at the end of the book.

As far as characters and plot go, I really enjoyed seeing Abby and Jonah together, and I loved that the parents weren’t entirely missing from this story. All in all, I’d say this is pretty straight up girly. I can’t really see boys liking this novel, but it is a really fun, cute read, and it would be great to get girls into retellings (and prep them for Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles :3). 3.5 stars.

pg count for the hardback: 176

Series: Whatever After #8

Leave a Reply

