The Truth About My Success by Dyan Sheldon

the truth about my success by dyan sheldon

Paloma Rose is living the dream.
A TV star and Teen Icon, she has everything most girls could ever want. On the other side of town, Dona Ginness is far from living the dream as you can get without actually being in a nightmare.

Normally the paths of Paloma and Dona would never cross. But there is one thing that draws their lives together. They look so much alike they could be twins.

And that’s how it all begins…

Description taken from Goodreads.


The thing about Dyan Sheldon’s books for me is that they’re hit or miss. This is the first one that is kind of in between, but only because I feel like other people, especially middle-grade girls, will enjoy this book.

THE TRUTH ABOUT MY SUCCESS has absolutely no romance, so by good for middle-grade girls, I don’t mean romance-filled. I mean funny and not super dramatic and pretty down to earth, like a few of Sheldon’s other novels.

What I didn’t love about this book was that I never connected to it. Not once did I relate to the story or feel attached to what happened to the characters. Then there was the matter of voice. THE TRUTH ABOUT MY SUCCESS was bland and irritating. The dialogue of the characters was meant to be satiric but just ended up being a nuisance to read.

Overall, I was really disappointed because I thought that this book could have been so much more, a whole Prince and the Pauper kind of deal. If you’re used to reading YA, especially great romance YA, I would definitely not recommend this book, but I can see it being right for many a lighthearted read loving middle-grade kid. If you’re looking for more of the Hollywood side of it all, I would recommend SECRETS OF MY HOLLYWOOD LIFE by Jen Calonita. 1.5 stars.

pg count for the paperback: 352

Leave a Reply

