ARC Review: Legends of the Rif by Joe O’Neill

legends of the rif by joe o'neill

In the catacombs of Kathmandu, a young boy learns the ancient ways of Nepal and
the Red Hand legend. In the cities of Morocco, an underground resistance of street boys and outcasts gives support to three young friends who must rely on their wits and courage as they are hunted across the Sahara. Their British friend, Margaret,risks everything to save her wrongly imprisoned father. With the help of her French schoolmates, Margaret defies authority in search of justice. Meanwhile, Tariq learns of the Red Hand from Melbourne Jack as he explains the importance of his journey to North Africa. And, a new enemy is discovered in the dark jungles of Ceylon as the courageous Foster Crowe is determined to balance the scales. As the winds of war sweep across Morocco, the infamous Caid prepares to declare himself as supreme dictator. Morocco’s only hope is our treasured ragtag group of resistance fighters from Rebels of the Kasbah, who are scattered all across the country. A battle of good against evil will echo through eternity.

Description taken from Goodreads. I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. These opinions are my own.


**No spoiler review**

What I loved and hated most about LEGENDS OF THE RIF was how the characters were all spread out and how this story went from the baseline set in REBELS OF THE KASBAH to tell a real story of four different kids aiming for the same purpose in many different ways in many different places.

I feel like LEGENDS OF THE RIF really shows how activism is the name of the game, but in reality, change comes from everywhere and there are too many gray spaces to count. While I really enjoyed that aspect of the of the story, I really felt that there were a lot of sub-plots (too many) that didn’t need to be told and took away from the pacing of it all. Even so, this story is jam-packed with action and adventure, and I loved the major plotline behind it all.

Honestly, there were a few things I didn’t like about LEGENDS. It’s probably the story I disliked the most in this series, but also the one I enjoyed the most. There were a few endings that were a little too convenient for my taste and, like I mentioned, staying focused was an issue, but there was more substance to this story than other.

The characters were all pushed to the very limits of what they could do, and I was pulled into this world all over again. I was confused at times, but overall, LEGENDS OF THE RIF was extremely enjoyable. I think it holds a great lessons and teachings about the past and issues even today that would be valuable for kids to learn, and I loved all of the themes inside it. This is a great contribution to the RED HAND ADVENTURES and I’m really looking forward to the next book. 4 stars.

pg count for the paperback: 372

Series: Red Hand Adventures #3

Leave a Reply

