Fireborn: A Dragonborn Novel by Toby Forward

fireborn by toby forward

If magic sets the world on fire, something new is born from the flames.

When an old, dying wizard steals magic from his young apprentice, Bee, he changes his own life and nearly destroys hers. But he also releases something new into the world – a wild magic that turns fields to flames and upsets the order of the world. It will take another apprentice, Cabbage, to find Bee and try to set the world right again.

Remarkable for its deft, dramatic prose and thrilling magical adventure, Toby Forward’s Dragonborn delighted critics and fans. This companion novel, set in the same world in a different time, is a breathtaking work of magic and suffering, friendship and transformation – and the new power that rises from the ashes of a terrible deed.

Description taken from Goodreads.


FIREBORN had a little bit of everything for me, in good and bad ways.

First: the bad. What really threw me off was two things in the story. The first, more noticeable one, in the point of view. While each individual character had a lot of personality by themselves, sometimes I wouldn’t even notice that the point of view had changed and since it bounces around so much, sometimes it was hard to keep everything organized. I will say that if you haven’t read the first book in this series (FIREBORN is the second book) then it’s hard to keep up with some of the details of the story, but really the more irritating thing for me was how sometimes details were left out and the POV switched too much.

I don’t think I would’ve minded the POV so much if it had really focused on Bee. That’s what I wanted. Bee was the main character, but while I was happy that the story really focused on a group of characters as a whole, Bee’s place seemed to get lost in everything that ended up happening.

Which leads me to the good part. I loved the plot, and I fell in love with the characters, even the villains. Because of how a lot of people were focused on, there was a lot of great character and world building done over the course of the book. I got exactly what I had hoped to see, and I was impressed with the different themes of this book. Many are intense, but others are thoughtful and slow. It brings a sense of hope among devastation and strength even during a hard time. I think this book has many great lessons to it and will be very enjoyable for fans of fantasy stories and this author in particular.

And we go back to the bad. FIREBORN was almost too slow for me at times. I needed to skim some parts, so this story will not be for kids who don’t enjoy slow parts to books. All in all, this is a story that I would recommend. It was a lot of fun, and while I didn’t love the ending all that much because I thought it left some strings too loose, I still enjoyed it and believe that tweens will love it as well. Not as good as the first book, but not a bad sequel. 3 stars.

pg count for the hardback: 432

Series: The Flaxfield Quartet #2

Leave a Reply

