ARC Review: How To Outswim a Shark Without A Snorkel by Jess Keating

how to outswim a shark without a snorkel by jess keating

Ana Wright’s summer just got terrifying. She’s finally getting used to living in a zoo (no, seriously—she lives with her family in an actual zoo), when she’s assigned to work in the new shark tank. With her worst enemy. Forget about sharks! Ashley is the ultimate predator. And after Ana’s favorite croc peed on Ashley’s shoes, she’s probably out for revenge.

This can’t be good.

Description taken from Goodreads. I received an advance copy of this book via the publisher in exchange for an honest review. These opinions are my own. 


I didn’t even know this book was a sequel until a few days ago when I checked the Goodreads tab for this book, which goes to show it can definitely stand on it’s own. The characters stand out individually, and I was able to grasp them all even though I haven’t read the first book in this series (which I will definitely be reading now.)

HOW TO OUTSWIM A SHARK WITHOUT A SNORKEL is whimsical, realistic, relatable and fun without overly so. I really enjoyed the plotline, Ana’s voice and the uniqueness to this story. There was so much to be enjoyed, and I loved the way she dealt with problems and had her own frustrations in a realistic way. I think that kids will be able to relate really easily with her, but still find humor in the antics of this story and the hurdles she faces.

I’ve never read anything quite like this book, but I’d be more than open to more of it. It was a quick, funny and entertaining read that I would recommend to all middle-grade readers. Happy book birthday to Jess Keating, and I’m so glad I got a chance to read this book! Even though I came into it thinking it would be a touch too out there for me, it was a perfect story and I can’t wait to see what other adventures are in store for Ana! 4 stars.

pg count for the paperback: 304

Series: My Life is a Zoo #2

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: How To Outswim a Shark Without A Snorkel by Jess Keating

Leave a Reply

