Oliver and the Seawigs by Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre

Oliver grew up in a family of explorers – but his biggest adventure is about to begin!

Along with his new friends, a grumpy old albatross, a short-sighted mermaid and a friendly island called Cliff, Oliver goes off in search of his missing parents. But before he can put his rescue plan into action there’s the evil Stacey de Lacey and an army of greasy, green sea monkeys to contend with . . .

Description taken from Goodreads. I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley. These opinions are my own and I have not been compensated in any way for them. 

This book…

that's cute gif

OLIVER AND THE SEAWIGS isn’t even whimsical. It’s just plain weird. On first glance, it doesn’t look like anything I would ever have any desire to pick up, but I am so glad that Random House Children’s (thank you!) decided to preapprove me for this and I decided to take a chance on it, because I was going through a bit of a middle-grade book slump at the time and this book was just the thing to lift me out of it.

This was mostly a plot-based book for me, which was a good thing and a bad thing. I tend to like character-driven books, in this case, plot-base worked. I loved the way that each event happened one after the other, keeping up a fast pace but not making me feel overwhelmed. I also really enjoyed how unique and fun each event in the plot was. The blurb actually does a great job of giving the reader a glimpse into the plot here, even if it is a little quirky.

As for the characters, I didn’t love all of them. I think I appreciated them in the same sense that I appreciated the anime and manga Arakawa Under the Bridge, which is an obscure anime if I’ve ever seen one. All of the supporting characters and 99% of the main characters help support the plot. I just couldn’t bring myself to love them all individually–as characters–but paired with the plot, these characters came out pitch-perfect. When it came to Oliver, I loved his backstory, character and the wacky adventures he went through.

Overall, this was a great, funny, sweet book perfect for 3rd to 6th graders that I would really recommend for anyone looking for a quick read. 4 stars.

pg count for the hardback: 195

One thought on “Oliver and the Seawigs by Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre

  1. I’m endlessly impressed by the range of Philip Reeve’s imagination – he’s invented such a wide range of fascinating settings and characters. This sounds like it’s keeping that up, and has me intrigued.

Leave a Reply

