On the Road to Find Out by Rachel Toor

On New Year’s Day, Alice Davis goes for a run. Her first ever. It’s painful and embarrassing, but so was getting denied by the only college she cares about. Alice knows she has to stop sitting around and complaining to her best friend, Jenni, and her pet rat, Walter, about what a loser she is. But what doesn’t know is that by taking those first steps out the door, she is setting off down a road filled with new challenges—including vicious side stitches, chafing in unmentionable places, and race-paced first love—and strengthening herself to endure when the going suddenly gets tougher than she ever imagined.

Description taken from Goodreads. 

A while ago I read a book called THE RUNNING DREAM by Wendelin Van Draanen which I was very pleasantly surprised with and enjoyed immensely, so when I saw another book about running I decided to pick it up and try it out.

First thing I can say about this book, it is fun.

The concept is great and I loved the way that the plot line moved. Even though there are a few quirky relationships and ideas considering this is a upper-MG, lower-YA book but it wasn’t annoying in any way. There’s a great portrayal of running here and how it feels to start getting into running. I recently just got into running over the summer as well so parts of this book really stuck out to me or were relatable.

The only thing that annoyed me in this book was Alice. She’s completely self-absorbed and self-centered. I mean–the entire reason why she’s so upset in the beginning is because Yale, the college of her dreams, rejected her. Every single year, there are TONS of Juniors and Seniors in the United States that get rejected from their first pick college. It’s a bummer, but it’s not the end of the world.

I even felt bad for Alice’s friends at times and with the turn of every single page, I expected someone to get up and stand up to her.

However, besides Alice, there were a few gems in this book that I really appreciated. The motivation to exercise part meant a lot to me and it was inspiring to read about Alice’s journey. She, like many a beginning runner, really wanted to quit in the beginning, but she sticks to her goals. It was great to see that and to see her triumph.

Overall, this was an enjoyable read about sports and exercise. There were parts where I wasn’t a huge fan of the writing or Alice especially dragged down the story, but all in all I liked it. 3 stars.

pg count for the hardback: 320

Leave a Reply

