A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd: The Kind of Quirky and Whimsical That I Don’t Enjoy Reading

Introducing an extraordinary new voice—a magical debut that will make your skin tingle, your eyes glisten . . .and your heart sing.

Midnight Gulch used to be a magical place, a town where people could sing up thunderstorms and dance up sunflowers. But that was long ago, before a curse drove the magic away. Twelve-year-old Felicity knows all about things like that; her nomadic mother is cursed with a wandering heart.

But when she arrives in Midnight Gulch, Felicity thinks her luck’s about to change. A “word collector,” Felicity sees words everywhere—shining above strangers, tucked into church eves, and tangled up her dog’s floppy ears—but Midnight Gulch is the first place she’s ever seen the word “home.” And then there’s Jonah, a mysterious, spiky-haired do-gooder who shimmers with words Felicity’s never seen before, words that make Felicity’s heart beat a little faster.

Felicity wants to stay in Midnight Gulch more than anything, but first, she’ll need to figure out how to bring back the magic, breaking the spell that’s been cast over the town . . . and her mother’s broken heart.

no whimsical storiesDescription taken from Goodreads.

I saw this meme on the Goodreads A Snicker of Magic and all I have to say is, this meme perfectly portrays how I felt 90% of the book. The first 10%, I was trying to convince myself it didn’t bother me.

A SNICKER OF MAGIC is quirky, fun and will probably be entertaining and popular with it’s age group. However, I just couldn’t take the constant poetic nature to Felicity’s words and the way she collected them. I also didn’t connect with the whole “storytelling of the entire town” plot. For those people who enjoyed Ingrid Law’s books (Savvy, Scumble) I think they’ll really enjoy A SNICKER OF MAGIC.

This book does have it’s moments. I will say that. Those gems are which grabbed me and what I held onto throughout this story because I did come to care about some of the supporting characters and Felicity herself.

“The way he said her name made my heart cramp. In all my years of word collecting, I’ve learned this to be a tried and true fact: I can very often tell how much a person loves another person by the way they say their name. I think that’s one of the best feelings in the world, when you know your name is safe in another person’s mouth. When you know they’ll never shout it out like a cuss word, but say it or whisper it like a once-upon-a-time.”

However, this book definitely was not suited to my taste and not all that I thought it would be coming from the blurb. I would highly recommend approaching this one with caution and reading excerpts before. 1.5 stars.

pg count for the hardback: 320

Leave a Reply

