Mission Unstoppable by Dan Gutman: A Typical Gutman Book — Fun, Unpredictable and Hilarious, But Wasn’t For Me

In eight days, Coke and Pepsi McDonald are going to turn thirteen.

Before then, they’ll jump off a cliff, get trapped in the locked basement of their burning school, chased cross-country by murderous lunatics, left for dead in the pit of a sand dune, forced to decipher mysterious coded messages, thrown into a giant vat of SPAM, and visit the world’s largest . . . ball of twine

There’s more, but if we told you here, we’d have to kill you.

Megapopular author Dan Gutman brings on the excitement with an action-packed new series that’s nothing short of dynamite. Join Coke and Pep on their quest to uncover just what it means to be part of “The Genius Files” . . . if you dare.

Descriptions taken from Goodreads.

In the beginning, I couldn’t help but feel that this was going the direction of THE TEMPLETON TWINS HAVE AN IDEA, and we all know what my thoughts were on that book.

The only thing that kept me going was the humor to MISSION UNSTOPPABLE and, of course, it’s Dan Gutman. Dan Gutman, guys. If you haven’t read at least one of his books, you seriously need to. You’ll never see middle-grade fiction the same way ever again though.

Eventually, Coke and Pepsi began to grow on me and I enjoyed their story more and more. I appreciated the typical Gutman voice, which–if you don’t know–is hilarious, fun and a genuine pleasure to read. However, I didn’t enjoy the voice of the narrator as much in MISSION UNSTOPPABLE and even though I did really like the plot, I felt like something was missing in certain points of the story.

Overall, this is a typical Gutman story. Very amusing and entertaining, but I don’t think that this is his best work. I’m rereading his KID PRESIDENT series right now, which I absolutely loved, and even though I didn’t like this one as much I just don’t think it was for me. I think it’ll be a great read for it’s target audience and fans of Gutman will not be disappointed. The plot is very fun, unpredictable and has great action-adventure elements. I’m looking forward to seeing how the next book, NEVER SAY GENIUS, will turn out. 3 stars.

pg count for the hardback: 287

Series: The Genius Files

Leave a Reply

