Secrets and Shadows: The Secret Zoo by Bryan Chick – An Entrance Into the Worlds of Mary Pope Osborne, Ron Roy and Geronimo Stilton

Only weeks after their return from the Secret Zoo, Noah and his friends must go back–and face their biggest challenge yet. With monstrous Sasquatches freely attacking the denizens of the zoo and the evil Shadowist at large, the fate of the world is at stake.

Descriptions taken from Goodreads.

One thing about this book was that it really brought back all the feel of the very first middle-grade books I read. Adventurous, funny, quick reads that had lovable characters and had plot lines that made me think–at least in my mind at the time. I have to say this book could be used for younger MG readers, and I feel like this book would be a great introduction into the worlds of Mary Pope Osborne, Ron Roy and Geronimo Stilton, who, by the way, were the very basis of a long, on-going good relationship with middle-grade fiction.

THE SECRET ZOO is a great series for younger readers and I like the fantasy to these books as well as some basic moral concepts that aren’t so blatantly obvious. I enjoyed going back to my early MG days through this book, just like Calvin & Hobbes brings me back to my very first comic days. I love this series and I think it provides a great entrance way into other great mysteries, fantasies and adventures. 4 stars.

pg count for the hardback: 266

Series: The Secret Zoo

Leave a Reply

