Robbie Forester and the Outlaws of Sherwood St. by Peter Abrahams: Much Better Robin Hood Stories Out There

Robbie Forester always knew life wasn’t fair, but she never thought she could do anything about it. Until one day a powerful charm comes into her possession, a charm that guides her, her three friends, and her dog Pendleton on the path to justice. But the charm doesn’t seem to understand that the path has gotten dangerous, and Robbie and her friends find themselves in a menacing world of thievery, arson, big yachts, and even bigger bank accounts. Will Robbie and her band of thieves end up in more trouble than they ever could have imagined?

Book descriptions taken from Goodreads.

I love myths and legends, and Robin Hood is no exception. I’ve read countless Robin Hood stories, one of my favorites being Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen. Speaking of which..

Ahhh! So excited! By the time this post comes out, it will be a little more than a few weeks until LADY THIEF is released.

But back to the book.

I was somewhat interested when I first cracked open this book. It didn’t take long though for me to realize that this story was not everything the blurb claimed to be. For one thing, the connection between the original Robin Hood tales and this book is almost nonexistent, other than the title and a few minor events in this book. That was a bit of a disappointment for me, but I continued on with the book.

I have to say there is a good use of the mystery feel in this book and I enjoyed the way Peter Abrahams wrote this story. I felt like the story could’ve been tighter and that the small things to this story could’ve been cut out so that it was less distracting. Along with that, I did enjoy the characters but even though they meant well, there were some things that happened that I thought was questionable as a good moral, along with the fact that it detracts from the Robin Hood mentality. 2 stars.

pg count for the hardback: 320

Series: Outlaws of Sherwood St.

Leave a Reply

