I Wish: AS YOU WISH by Jackson Pearce and THE ART OF WISHING by Lindsay Ribar

I recently got the chance to read AS YOU WISH and THE ART OF WISHING, two great books by two fabulous authors–Jackson Pearce and Lindsay Ribar. In terms of books, I think that AS YOU WISH was more engineered towards the MG crowd; but THE ART OF WISHING was less appealing to me.

Maybe it’s because I’ve read a lot of Pearce’s work before and I really like it, but THE ART OF WISHING, as much as I did like it, I just couldn’t bring myself to stop comparing it to AYW.

Let’s look at them both.

AS YOU WISH is about a girl named Viola who feels like she doesn’t belong anywhere anymore after her boyfriend broke up with her and she started falling into the shadows. She makes wish after wish wistfully, hoping that somehow she can find her way back to where she was before. Not meaning to, she summons a genie who will remain until she makes her three wishes, when he can go home. The genie Viola summons, who is affectionately dubbed Jinn, is obsessed with time and desperately wants Viola to make her three wishes so that he can go home. However, Viola doesn’t want to wish because she’s scared that she’ll make the wrong decision. As they spend time together, Viola and Jinn begin to fall for each other–but they both know that after Viola makes her three wishes, Jinn will disappear and Viola will forget him.

THE ART OF WISHING is about a girl named Margo, who has a plan for everything. But when she ends up in possession of a genie’s ring, she has no idea what she wants to do. However, Oliver is a lot more than a genie. He’s also a sophomore at Margo’s high school, a sophomore on the run from a murderer. As he and Margo get closer, Margo desperately starts trying to save him–but it’ll take a lot more than magic and three wishes to save him.

Descriptions taken from Goodreads.

I thought that the beginning to ASW was stronger. However, I felt like ART had a stronger middle and end. In this way, I felt like both books were pretty strong beginnings as series because of how they left out that little chunk that will urge readers to read the next book. I did feel like ART was a stronger novel in general, but ASW had a more fun writing style. Jinn and Olivia just came to life the second I read them into my mind, (if that makes any sense…) and became alive for me. Whereas Margo and Oliver were great, but in the beginning I just couldn’t bring myself to love them. Later on, it got better though.

Overall, I guess it really depends on what you want. I think that in the short-term, for people who like YA and despise MG, ART is a better book to go with. However, for people who want the long-term satisfaction and instant gratification on every page, ASW will be the better pick. It can, at times, read like an MG book, but I actually found that I really liked that about it. They’re both for mature MG audiences. I guess it all depends on your reading preferences. 4 stars to each book.

If you had three wishes, what would you wish for? These books might make you think twice about you want!

pg count for ART (h): 314

Series: The Art of Wishing

pg count for ASW (h): 304

Series: Genies

Leave a Reply

