Oh. My. Gods. by Tera Lynn Childs: A Fun and Unique Middle-Grade Romance

A modern girl’s comedic odyssey in a school filled with the descendants of Greek gods.

When Phoebe’s mom returns from Greece with a new husband and moves them to an island in the Aegean, Phoebe’s plans for her senior year and track season are ancient history. Now she must attend the uber exclusive academy, where admission depends on pedigree, namely, ancestry from Zeus, Hera, and other Greek gods. That’s right, they’re real, not myth, and their teen descendants are like the classical heroes: supersmart and super beautiful with a few superpowers. And now they’re on her track team! Armed only with her Nikes and the will to win, Phoebe races to find her place among the gods.

Descriptions taken from Goodreads.

I loved the bits of humor here and there in this book. It was a really fun, quick read and I really liked the way that Phoebe grew so much throughout the course of this book and the premise to this story. In the beginning, I definitely wasn’t a huge fan of Phoebe because of her attitude and the way she looked at things, but I could understand her feelings and her situation and eventually grew to like her.

In fact, I loved a lot of the characters. I thought that they were a little wishy-washy at times, but I still enjoyed reading about them. I wished they could have been a little more solid in what they did, what their motivation was and what they liked and didn’t like though.

Overall, I liked this book. I think it could’ve been a lot better, but Childs’s setup and the way she wrote this book still made it really enjoyable for me. I think that mature middle-grade girls will really like it and I think that it provides a good transition into YA contemporary, along with This is What Happy Looks Like. 4 stars.

pg count for the hardback: 272

Series: Oh. My. Gods.

Leave a Reply

