The Limit by Kristen Landon: A Good Supernatural MG Thriller

An eighth grade girl was taken today . . . With this first sentence, readers are immediately thrust into a fast-paced thriller that doesn’t let up for a moment.

In a world not too far removed from our own, kids are being taken away to special workhouses if their families exceed the monthly debt limit imposed by the government. Thirteen-year-old Matt briefly wonders if he might be next, but quickly dismisses the thought. After all, his parents are financially responsible, unlike the parents of those other kids. As long as his parents remain within their limit, the government will be satisfied and leave them alone. But all it takes is one fatal visit to the store to push Matt’s family over their limit—and to change his reality forever.

Descriptions taken from Goodreads.

Honestly, I love how Kristen Landon brought the thriller-dystopia genre to the MG audience. Kudos to her for that. THE LIMIT was disappointing in ways and really pleasantly surprising in ways. For on

THE LIMIT was, in my eyes, a lot like THE GIRL WHO COULD FLY. Both of them are very entertaining and very fun, thriller-like MG books. I do have to admit that I liked THE GIRL WHO COULD FLY better, simply because I felt like I knew the characters more and the ending was more satisfying for me. The ending of THE LIMIT was interesting, and it tied up the loose ends of the novel, but I didn’t feel… fulfilled, somehow. With THE GIRL WHO COULD FLY, I felt like that and I really enjoyed the way things ended up.

For these kinds of stories, I think it’s really important that the reader really cares about the characters because of how, past how what the people in charge do to the kids is inhumane, I feel like the reader needs to feel more. Like they’re really there, seeing someone they care about, their friend, being put in that situation. That may be a little extreme, but that’s how I felt with THE GIRL WHO COULD FLY,  and it intensified how I felt about the book in the end.

In this book, I felt like Coop was the real highlight for me. He was a fun, great guy and really kept my spirits up. For Matt and his family though, I just got the impression that they were incredibly naive. Still, a good book and a good introduction into YA thrillers. Would probably recommend THE GIRL WHO COULD FLY more though. 3.5 stars.

pg count for the hardback: 304

Leave a Reply

