The Hypnotists by Gordon Korman: Another Great Story by Gordon Korman

Jackson Opus has always been persuasive, but he doesn’t know that he’s descended from the two most powerful hypnotist bloodlines on the planet. He’s excited to be accepted into a special program at the Sentia Institute — but when he realizes he’s in over his head, Jackson will have to find a way to use his powers to save his friends, his parents, and his government.

Description taken from Goodreads.

Definitely didn’t enjoy this book as much as SCHOOLED or UNGIFTED, but it was still pretty good. So far, there has never been a Gordon Korman book I read that I didn’t like. In fact, for a while, I considered giving UNGIFTED five stars.

I really liked this book. I recently read a lot of superhero books, and I was interested to see how this would all play out with Gordon Korman’s spin.

Jackson was a pretty cool guy. In a way, I can see a lot of similarity in terms of humor and writing style between this and SIDEKICKED, but I feel like this book has a better chance of reaching out to older readers. Maybe it’s because Gordon Korman has been writing longer, maybe it’s because he’s written books targeted towards teens. I dunno. It’s just a feeling I get.

As for the other characters in this story, I thought they were pretty good. I didn’t like Mako nearly as much as some of the other characters and I thought he could’ve been a lot better, but he was still okay.

There was a lot of action in this story and I really appreciated Jackson’s journey as a character. I thought the premise of this story was really original and I was glad to have seen Gordon Korman go down the superhero route. I’ll be interested in seeing what happens with Jackson and what he does in the next book. 4 stars.

pg count for the hardback: 232

Series: The Hypnotists

Leave a Reply

