Words Wound: Delete Cyberbullying and Make Kindness Go Viral by Justin W. Patchin and Sameer Hinduja

Cyberbullying among teens happens every day. Harsh words and damaging photos exchanged through texts, email, or social media can result in humiliation, broken friendships, punishment at school, and even legal prosecution. In some cases, online harassment has contributed to suicide. Faced with this frightening problem, parents, educators, and teens are looking for information and advice. But few cyberbullying resources speak to teens themselves. Written by experts in cyberbullying prevention and reviewed by teens, this book provides strategies for kids who are being bullied online—such as save a screenshot of hostile Facebook posts as evidence—as well as for those who have taken part in bullying others. It also presents ways for teens to make their schools and their communities kinder places that are free from online cruelty, for example, by holding a schoolwide “lock it down day” to educate students about Internet privacy. This book gives teens the tools they need to keep themselves and others safe.

Description taken from Goodreads.

This book brings me back to the time when I reviewed Bullying Under Attack, a book that was completely different from any bullying book I had ever read before. When I picked up this story, I had the hopes that it would provide a good companion to BULLYING UNDER ATTACK. And it is.

I recently watched the movie CYBERBULLY on YouTube. I think that WORDS WOUND, BULLYING UNDER ATTACK and CYBERBULLY go really well together. After all, it’s easy to just know that what you’re saying or might say will hurt someone, but it’s something completely different to see how it effects the person.

I have to admit that by itself, WORDS WOUND didn’t hit me as hard as BULLYING UNDER ATTACK. I think that may be because BUA brought a really unique style of telling a lesson to the table. It had stories from the victims, the bullies and the bystanders; and all those stories came together as one to bring home a message that was told in a really powerful way. While WORDS WOUND was powerful, organized, interactive and helped define a lot of what cyberbullying is and why it happens, I still don’t think that the real-life accounts and stories were enough to make it all fully come together.

However, even through these three resources, I still feel like something’s missing. I don’t know. For me, I think my bullying research would come full-circle by reading books like SUICIDE NOTES and THIRTEEN REASONS WHY. It would be cool to see all of these things come together to try to make a bullying prevention day. I truly believe that if more teens got out to read these books and see how this really effects everyone, I think that change could come. That’s not a bad idea actually…

Anyway, I really liked WORDS WOUND. It brought more perspective to me from the cyberbullying aspect of things and I liked how clear and concise it was. All in all, 4 stars.

pg count for the paperback: 208

Leave a Reply

