Nerd Camp by Elissa Brent Weissman: Fun, Nerdy and Adventurous

Ten-year-old Gabe has just been accepted to the Summer Center for Gifted Enrichment. That means he’ll be spending six weeks at sleepaway camp, writing poetry and perfecting logic proofs. SCGE has been a summer home of some legendary middle-school smarty-pants (and future Jeopardy! contestants), but it also has a reputation for being, well, a nerd camp. Gabe isn’t a nerd. Is he? He’s never thought about it much, but compared to Zack, his hip, soon-to-be-stepbrother from LA, Gabe’s not so sure where he falls on the cool scale. A wild summer at camp—complete with a midnight canoe ride to Dead Man’s Island—helps Gabe realize that he and Zack may be different, but that doesn’t mean they can’t be brothers…and friends.

Description taken from Goodreads.

This was a really fun book for me. Honestly, I thought this book was pretty cool. I loved the amusing tone to Gabe’s POV narration and the way his relationship with Zack is consistently changing. Not only that, but the exchange of letters between Gabe and Zack was a nice idea.

In elementary and middle school, for the school I went to, the 5th Grade and the MS always had a fall field study. (Different places, but same week.) We were never allowed to take our phones because the drive was only about an hour away. Less than an hour. The counselors were allowed to print out emails for us, but it wasn’t that long of a time. Of course, we weren’t allowed to send anything back. -.- It didn’t really matter. It was only about a week.

But for during the summer, I can see how this email thing would work and not work at the same time. I mean–I get the fact that we were supposed to be all in tune with nature and our peers and all that. I dig that. I love nature. But people were supposed to send emails and never get a reply? I mean, 99.9% of the time, I WANT A RESPONSE when I send an email or a text or a phone call to someone. It’s pretty much pointless except for that .1% of the time, that one or two emails, that I don’t care about a response. So, as I said before, it works and it doesn’t work. So the letter thing was cool to me.

And the characters? Awesome. It was so fun to read the different adventures of Gabe and his friends, but also Zack at the same time. The little diagram pictures really added to the book as well. Overall, 4 stars. Very impressed with this story, and I had a lot of fun. Definitely going to try snag a copy for myself…

pg count for the 272

Leave a Reply

