Click Here (To Find Out How I Survived Seventh Grade) by Denise Vega

Imagine if all your personal thoughts about crushes, fears, enemies, and even kissing practice ended up on the Internet for everyone to read. That’s what happens to Erin Swift when her super-secret blog and all of her musings on navigating the treacherous waters of seventh grade–including her feelings about herself, her best friend Jillian, her crushes, and growing up–are accidentally uploaded for the whole school to see!

Description taken from Goodreads.

Two things about this book that I didn’t understand.

  1. Erin
  2. The fascination with Tootsie Pops.

This is a cute story. I thought it was good, but a lot of it didn’t make sense to me. I really struggled with connecting with Erin’s character in the beginning. Eventually, I grew to like her and her quirky personality, and even her love of cherry flavored tootsie pops–even though it didn’t make sense to me. I mean–I know. I have favorite flavors too. Sour apple lollipops. Blue raspberry jolly ranchers. Orange tic tacs. Even if I’m not really a candy person.

I didn’t hate the format, but I do think that it could’ve been better. Possibly if it had been formatted like MY LIFE UNDECIDED, then I would’ve liked it better. I loved the concepts though, like how the Intranet was formatted and made for the school. Very cute, cool story–but I don’t think it’ll fly with tween guys. 3.5 stars.

Really want to read the sequel now!

pg count for the paperback: 224

Leave a Reply

