This Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith: If Fate Sent Me An Email

If fate sent you an email, would you answer?

When teenage movie star Graham Larkin accidentally sends small town girl Ellie O’Neill an email about his pet pig, the two seventeen-year-olds strike up a witty and unforgettable correspondence, discussing everything under the sun, except for their names or backgrounds.

Then Graham finds out that Ellie’s Maine hometown is the perfect location for his latest film, and he decides to take their relationship from online to in-person. But can a star as famous as Graham really start a relationship with an ordinary girl like Ellie? And why does Ellie want to avoid the media’s spotlight at all costs?

Hmm. If fate sent me an email, it would probably look like this:

From: fateandlife@gmail.com

To: elimadison2019@gmail.com

Subject: (no subject)

Hey. You may not know me, but I know you. I know your name, but you don’t know mine. You may think I’m joking, but I’m not. I–

Okay. I’ll cut to the chase. Point is, my name is Fate. You’re on your laptop right now, writing this post even though you have things you should be doing. You’ll say this right now. I mean–you’ll type gray right now. See! It happened again. Now you’ll type now you’ll type just to confuse me.

Haha. Got you, didn’t I? This is a spam email, so please don’t reply.

Fate’s a jerk sometimes.

Anyway, I probably wouldn’t answer that.

Getting to the book, I thought this was great. I read this book while I was reading THE MOON AND MORE by Sarah Dessen for RealityLapse, my other book blog. As you may or may not know, I’m not the hugest fan of Dessen. But still, I enjoyed TMAM. Right in the middle though, I got in this rut where I just didn’t want to read TMAM anymore. And I started reading this book, THIS IS WHAT HAPPY LOOKS LIKE.

Wow. I love this book, especially the format. I guess there’s a little bit of history to that though.

Almost no one in my fifth grade class had a phone. But almost everyone had an email. And my best friend and I started this thing where we treated email like texting, or chatting on Facebook Messenger. We swapped pictures, chain emails (I hate them), links and messages. Whenever someone was bored, we’d send out the simple email anyone on? to everyone in our contacts. What ensued, if someone was online, was a response. And then a conversation through emails.

After we all got phones and it simply became more convenient just to text one another or talk to them in person, the email chat kind of faded out. My best friend and I still do it, but not so much anymore.

Having said that, one thing that really annoys me in internet or technology novels is when the author feels the need to put something into the subject space every single time. More often that not, even if I have a specified goal in mind, I don’t put a subject in when I’m emailing my friends. I’m not saying I never do, but I don’t usually.

Thank you, Smith, for understanding that–as little as an issue that it is, thank you.

As for the pacing, plot and outline of this book, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I wasn’t expecting Ellie’s dad to be under those circumstances. I expected that Ellie used to be a former child actor that faded away and went into a normal life. Then, she would meet Graham and everything would get complicated, like in that one drama THE GREATEST LOVE.

As for characters, I really enjoyed both Graham and Ellie. I think I liked Graham more as a person, though. I think he would be a great friend to have. It was great getting to know both of them and I really enjoyed their journeys and how supportive they were to each other.

As for what happiness looks like to me… hmmm. Ski trips. Best friends. Meeting new people. Seeing new places. Mountain ranges. Sunrises. City lights. Rain. The sound of thunder. Lazy Saturdays. Calvin and Hobbes. My family. Great teachers. Smart co-workers. Beautiful sights. Great movies. Awesome graphics. Well-done animes and mangas. The smell of lemons and freshly-cut grass. A+s. Happy dogs. Reunions. Untouched snow. Amazing food. Good juice. Haagen-Dazs Zesty Lemon Sorbet. Shin Ramen on a cold day after a long hike. Good books. :)

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed Smith’s writing. Thinking about reading THE STATISTICAL PROBABILITY OF LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT now. 4.5 stars.

(The review for TMAM won’t show up just yet if you type it in the search engine for RL. If you really want to see my review for that book, click here. If you’re willing to wait or you’re just curious, it’ll be on my blog on November 12, 2013.)

pg count for the hardback: 416

One thought on “This Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith: If Fate Sent Me An Email

  1. Pingback: The Distance Between Us by Kasie West: Funny, Witty and Just the Type of Romance I Love to Read | The Silver Words

Leave a Reply

