The Teashop Girls by Laura Shaefer

The Official Rules of the Teashop Girls:

1. Teashop girls are best friends forever.

2. Tea is held every week, no matter what.

3. All tea and scones must be split equally at all times.

Annie, Genna, and Zoe have been hanging out at the Steeping Leaf since elementary school. The Teashop Girls do everything together — at least they used to. With the end of eighth grade approaching, Genna’s too busy with theater, Zoe’s always at tennis, and Annie feels totally left out. What happened to tea every week, no matter what?

When Annie convinces her grandmother to give her a job as a barista at the Leaf, things begin to look up. In between whipping up chai lattes for customers, and attempting to catch the attention of her Barista Boy crush, Annie is finally beginning to feel as grown-up as her best friends. But an eviction notice spells trouble for the Leaf and unless they can turn the business around, the teashop will have to close its doors forever.

I never really got around to reading this book until just recently. I’ve seen it before, but it was only when a friend of mine recommended the sequel to this book to me that I decided to read it.

And I liked it.

I’m not really super big into scones, but I’ve had my fair share. My family and friends always pick them up when it’s that fair time of year or when we go to Knott’s Berry Farm. And then with tea, I usually like Asian teas more than English teas, but I actually like tea a lot. I’ve never really tried anything other than the usual scones-and-berries thing though, so it was cool to see all the different recipes for teas and scones. I can’t wait to see what kind of recipes are in THE SECRET INGREDIENT.

I’ve got mixed feelings about the characters. I didn’t really enjoy Genna and Annie’s sensitive immaturity at times, but I guess that helped make the book realistic. That said, my favorite character was probably Zoe.

I liked the friendship element to this story, which was basically the huge theme that this book wrapped around. This would definitely be a tween girl book. Categorized under shoujo…

I liked the ending though, and I’m curious to see more from Laura Shaefer, as well as more about the Teashop Girls. Waiting to get my copy of THE SECRET INGREDIENT from the library…

4 stars.

pg count for the hardcover: 256

Series: Teashop Girls

Leave a Reply

