The Pull of Gravity by Gae Polisner

While Nick Gardner’s family is falling apart, his best friend, Scooter, is dying from a freak disease. The Scoot’s final wish is that Nick and their quirky classmate, Jaycee Amato, deliver a prized first-edition copy of Of Mice and Men to the Scoot’s father. There’s just one problem: the Scoot’s father walked out years ago and hasn’t been heard from since. So, guided by Steinbeck’s life lessons, and with only the vaguest of plans, Nick and Jaycee set off to find him. Characters you’ll want to become friends with and a narrative voice that sparkles with wit make this a truly original coming-of-age story.

Love the cover.

I liked the storyline and the elements of humor to this book. It was a quick, fun, sweet read that I found that I actually liked a lot more than I thought I would. It was a good length. The only real thing that I found irked me was the unbelievably. It wasn’t realistic in parts of the story.

I liked the emails that went back and forth between Nick and his dad. I think it brought a new depth to the story that could not have been achieved without it. And though I enjoyed many of the characters, I think I liked Jaycee the best. The witty relationship between the two was great and I found myself smiling as I read it.

Oh yeah, and Steinbeck and Yoda together? An awesome idea. Wasn’t pulled off the way I wanted it to, but it was still a fun concept and I liked the way they meshed together. I think this book is a great introduction into books like John Green’s PAPER TOWNS, and if you like this as a tween then you’ll like PAPER TOWNS. 3.5 stars,

pg count for the hardback: 202

Leave a Reply

