Pathfinder by Orson Scott Card: For Fans of Ender’s Game–And Not Just Because It’s by The Same Author

A powerful secret. A dangerous path.

Rigg is well trained at keeping secrets. Only his father knows the truth about Rigg’s strange talent for seeing the paths of people’s pasts. But when his father dies, Rigg is stunned to learn just how many secrets Father had kept from him–secrets about Rigg’s own past, his identity, and his destiny. And when Rigg discovers that he has the power not only to see the past, but also to change it, his future suddenly becomes anything but certain.

Rigg’s birthright sets him on a path that leaves him caught between two factions, one that wants him crowned and one that wants him dead. He will be forced to question everything he thinks he knows, choose who to trust, and push the limits of his talent…or forfeit control of his destiny.

First of all, epic cover.

pathfinder

I stumbled upon this book in Powell’s on my trip to Portland and I was so excited. I mean–I have been a fan of Ender’s Game for years, and I was super excited to read another book by Orson Scott Card.

Now, I know I’m kinda slow on the upkeep because I had no idea that Orson Scott Card had written this book until about a few weeks ago, three years after it was released. -_-

I think that this book would be the most enjoyable for fans of Orson Scott Card and time-travel/contemporary people who enjoy action here and there, as well as people who enjoy a good sci-fi challenge in keeping up with all the parallel world stuff. I thought that, as much as I did think this book was pretty good, ENDER’S GAME was much better. The characters seemed more distant in this story , well into the middle of the book. Part of why I love first-person so much is that I find it easier to connect with the characters, especially the narrator(s).

I’m not saying the third person is less than first person, it’s just more fun to read for me typically. But as I’ve said before, I find that–when reading a good third-person story, I won’t openly acknowledge the third-personness. ENDER’S GAME was like that. I dunno. There was just something different about this book. I didn’t feel like I knew Rigg the way I felt I knew Ender.

The idea of being able to see people’s pasts the way Orson Scott Card set everything up was really interesting to me. It was a fresh, original take on the whole scheme. None of the I’m-a-girl-who-hides-beneath-sweatshirts-and-sweats-because-I-can’t-stand-being-close-to-people-but-oh-look-there’s-a-nice-guy-so-I’m-going-to-listen-to-him plot. I can definitely see some similarities between this book and ENDER’S GAME, but not so much that it feels like the author is just feeding off another book.

A little boring at times, but I thought it was still an entertaining and amusing book. I really liked the really complicated paradoxes, worlds and time travelling aspects to this book. However, it wasn’t an easy read at times, and there were rough parts where the pacing and flow of the writing got thrown off. Just keep that in mind if you decide to read this book. 3.5 stars. Recommended for 7th to 10th grade.

pg count for the hardback: 657

Series: Pathfinder

Leave a Reply

