Darkwing by Kenneth Oppel: How I Grew to Love a Book About Bats

As the sun sets on the time of the dinosaurs, a new world is left in its wake. . . .

Dusk

He alone can fly and see in the dark, in a colony where being different means being shunned—or worse. As the leader’s son, he is protected, but does his future lie among his kin?

Carnassial

He has the true instincts of a predator, and he is determined that his kind will not only survive but will dominate the world of beasts.

I love the SILVERWING series. I mean, I know right? Bats. Who would’ve thought…

But that’s not the point.

Maybe you have noticed or maybe you haven’t, but I make it a point to not review a certain book in a series unless you’ve got something where every book in the series is a different story altogether. I usually only do the first books, guys. And if I do want to review a series, I review the whole series in one post. The only usual reason why I would review a certain book in the series (i.e. #2, #3, #4, #5, etc.) is either because a) someone wanted me to or b) because that book was my favorite book in the series.

This time, it’s b.

That’s right. The fourth and final book in the series is my favorite. I loved Carnassial (awesome name, bro) and Dusk. Carnassial is kind of a mouthful, so I’ll just call him….. Nass. Yeah. I like the sound of that. Nass… Okay, getting back on subject.

One of the things I love to see and do in books is take a character, especially the main character, and put their polar opposite right in front of their face, where they can’t avoid them. Nass is not exactly the opposite of Dusk, per say. More like a rival. A bully, even. Someone who thinks their kind is superior. Not a totally original concept, but not overly used.

It was great to see the relationships and conflicts between Nass and Dusk. I thought they were both really well-written characters and I was impressed with how they grew and changed throughout the story. When I first cracked open this book, I didn’t think I would like Nass and Dusk nearly as much as Shade, but that was not the case here. I might even like Nass and Dusk more…

Moving on, the plot. Kenneth Oppel has yet to show me a book with a dull, boring plot.

And writing? I love Kenneth Oppel’s writing voice and the way he wrote this story especially.

Here and there, this book has flaws all it’s own, but I would encourage all animal lovers to try the series. 4 stars.

pg count for the hardback: 432

Series: Silverwing

Leave a Reply

