An Army of Frogs: A Kulipari Novel by Trevor Pryce

It’s frogs versus scorpions in this new series by professional football player Trevor Pryce. For years, the frogs of the Amphibilands have lived in safety—protected by an elite group of poisonous frogs named the Kulipari and by the dreamcasting spell of the turtle king that cloaks their lands in mystery. Now the spell is threatened by the Spider Queen, a talented spellcaster, and Lord Marmoo, leader of the scorpions. With the Kulipari off training in secret, the Amphibilands have never been so vulnerable. Enter Darel, a young frog who dreams of joining the Kulipari, despite his utter lack of poison and limited fighting skills. With the help of a motley crew of friends, Darel has the chance to become the warrior of his dreams.

I picked this book up in Costco.

I started the habit when I was little, while my mom was shopping. I would go straight to the book section of Costco and pick up a book and read. I could typically finish one book in two to three trips.

This was a good book. Some books, I can’t even bring myself to pick up again. I simply just have no desire to read the book anymore. But this book, I headed straight for the book section and picked up right where I left off in this book.

The characters were a little simplistic both in their language and how they acted, but I still really liked them and I thought they brought a lot to the story. I especially liked Wendell’s friends and the Kulipari. I thought reading about the Kulipari was really cool and Wendell’s experiences adjusting to them was interesting. As for the different factions of frogs, I thought that was pretty cool as well–just learning about the different frogs and how they lived in that close environment.

I thought this book was really well-written and it brought a lot of action right from the very beginning, which I was impressed by. It kept going on a pretty good pace right up until the end of the book, and I enjoyed reading the story. The plot was intriguing and it entertained me a lot. I think this book would be great for fans of Erin Hunter and the REDWALL series.

This is a really fun book and I sincerely hope that Trevor Pryce and Sanford Greene come out with a second book or a guide or something. I would love to flip through it and see what else they can bring to this world. 4 stars.

pg count for the hardback: 288

Leave a Reply

