Lone Wolf by Kathryn Lasky: For Fans of the Ga’Hoole Series and Erin Hunter

Spinoff from owl Guardians of Ga’hoole introduces Faolan, newborn wolf pup with a twisted leg. Harsh code of the pack demands such weakness be abandoned on a desolate hill. But alone in the wilderness, Faolan does not perish – a tale of survival, courage, and love triumphant.

When I first saw this book, I thought about Erin Hunter’s Seekers series. You know, the one with the bears? I think people who like this series would like that series, and vice versa.

The first time I heard of Kathryn Lasky, it was because of the Guardians of Ga’Hoole movie. I liked the movie, but I didn’t love it. I decided to give the books a try anyway, and although I wasn’t the hugest fan of the owl books, I decided that if Kathryn Lasky came out with anything else–I would try it. Such is the deal with many authors.

It took me a little bit to truly get past the beginning of this book, but once I got into the world of the grizzly–Thunderheart–and Faolan, I was reasonably interested in this book. And that interest only grew throughout the book. I loved seeing Faolan grow both as a wolf and as a character. I think that my favorite part was there, in the very beginning, with Thunderheart and Faolan, because without each other both would’ve died.

I thought that the action/adventure themes to this story were well done and gave a lesson on paying respect to all living creatures–especially animals, which I thought was great, child-friendly and important.

One of the only complaints I had with this book was that it bordered dangerously close to one of the things I hate most in a book: bad endings. I thought the ending was really abrupt and cut-off. The same thing happened in Kashmira Sheth’s Boys Without Names, and I was really disappointed because that book wasn’t even a series, so that ending was final. However, this is a series and the rest of the series is pretty great. A wonderful series for 4th-6th grade readers.

pg count for the hardback: 240

Series: Wolves of the Beyond

Leave a Reply

