Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle by Betty MacDonald

Everyone loves Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle. Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle lives in an upside-down house ans smells like cookies. She was even married to a pirate once. Most of all, she knows everything about children. She can cure them of any ailment. Patsy hates baths. Hubert never puts anything away. Allen eats v-e-r-y slowly. Mrs Piggle-Wiggle has a treatment for all of them.

The incomparable Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle loves children good or bad and never scolds but has positive cures for Answer-Backers, Never-Want-to-Go-to-Bedders, and other boys and girls with strange habits.

This book may not be a tween read, but it is most definitely a  kid read, and when I was a kid I loved this book!

mrspigglewiggle

I literally picked this book off my shelf one day and thought, What the heck is this? I had absolutely no memory of reading this little book or why it was on a shelf of books I had loved when I first started reading chapter books. By then I had moved a little from these books, but I thought, Why not? And I started to read.

This book is weird. Just saying that right now. It’s quite unique actually, and it has a quality to the writing where I just can’t seem to stop loving this book–even now, after I’ve read it a dozen times. This book was perfect when I was in first, second, third grade. It’s full of humor, love and heartwarming stories of how Mrs. Piggle Wiggle deals with the kids she loves so dearly. I love this book and I hope that many more young kids come to read it.

It’s hard to believe these books were written so long ago…don’t worry though, except for a phrase or two that has fallen out modern day speech, this book is still clever, well-written and timeless. 4.5 stars.

pg count for the paperback: 119

Leave a Reply

