Into the Wild by Erin Hunter: Warrior Cats

For generations, four Clans of wild cats have shared the forest according to the laws laid down by their warrior ancestors. But the ThunderClan cats are in grave danger, and the sinister ShadowClan grows stronger every day. Noble warriors are dying–and some deaths are more mysterious than others. In the midst of this turmoil appears an ordinary house cat named Rusty . . . who may turn out to be the bravest warrior of them all.

I’m finally reviewing this book. Let me just say that this was my favorite currently-reading series for a long time. I was completely enchanted and sucked into this world of warriors and glory and good against evil. As I’ve mentioned plenty of times before, I’m not a big fan of Stephanie Meyer, but I do like this quote from Alistair in Breaking Dawn, Part 2:

It’s a romantic notion, isn’t it? That a righteous few can defy a great evil.”

I’ve got to say, I do like that quote. It defines so much of the action YA I read right now, the select few, the chosen, the special. It’s overused, but it’s most certainly a romantic notion. A heroic, hopeful, exciting one.

And even though it was hard to keep track of characters and who was whose kid (or should I say kit?) after a while, that notion, that feeling was still there. Even if it was more like fifty instead of a few.

 The biggest reas0n why this series has a special place in my heart is because it was the series that finally got me up and writing. I’m not a fan of fan fiction, (push aside the pun), but I respect it. Without fan fiction, I would never have started writing. This series was the start of my first story.

So I love this series. I think it’s great, and I truly believe it will appeal to most of the people who read it. Really good for tweens. As well as being really enjoyable and fast paced, it teaches a bunch of valuable lessons about strength, caring, kindness, prejudice, what it means to be a clan. A great series, if a tad long. There’s a link below to help you sort through all the different books. 4.5 stars.

pg count for the paperback: 288

Series: Warriors

Link: http://www.warriorcats.com/books

Leave a Reply

