Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babitt

Doomed to – or blessed with – eternal life after drinking from a magic spring, the Tuck family wanders about trying to live as inconspicuously and comfortably as they can. When ten-year-old Winnie Foster stumbles on their secret, the Tucks take her home and explain why living forever at one age is less a blessing that it might seem. Complications arise when Winnie is followed by a stranger who wants to market the spring water for a fortune.

Like many kids, I actually read Tuck Everlasting in class.

Most of the classics I’ve read I read on my own time, and I was pretty far into my classics run when we started reading this story. Let me just say, one of the hardest books I ever read was Hard Times by Dickens. Even though it was really boring for me in the beginning and I almost gave up on it, I also loved it. I appreciated the slow descents into madness, into drinking and regret. It was a dark tale, but in a way, the only thing it really was a tragic one. But that’s another review.

Same thing with Tuck Everlasting. I know, I know. How could I not love this tragic, bittersweet, beautiful tale of what it means to live and the choices you make? I’ve heard it all, folks, believe me. In the end though, I loved this story.

The language is beautiful, artistic even, yet simple. It actually really does make you think, well, what if I couldn’t die? What choices would you make? What would you do? I’ve seen this countless times, in so many different settings. The movie Groundhog Day with Bill Murray. Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver. Eleven Birthdays by Wendy Mass. Just to name a few.

The prospect, how people do their own take on that idea though, never ceases to amaze me. And the way Natalie Babitt writes is important. It teaches us love, compassion, the way you treat the idea of forever. I hope more people, more kids, end up reading this story and learning from it because while it doesn’t teach the most important lessons, it makes you think about them. It helps you get to those lessons, those ideas, in the first place.

pg count for the paperback: 144

Leave a Reply

