Eighth Grade Bites by Heather Brewer

Junior high really sucks for thirteen-year-old Vladimir Tod. Bullies harass him, the principal is dogging him, and the girl he likes prefers his best friend. Oh, and Vlad has a secret: his mother was human, but his father was a vampire. With no idea of the extent of his powers, Vlad struggles daily with his blood cravings and his enlarged fangs. When a substitute teacher begins to question him a little too closely, Vlad worries that his cover is about to be blown. But then he faces a much bigger problem: he’s being hunted by a vampire killer.

Every year, I spent at least some of my time at the book fair simply staring at Heather Brewer’s book covers.

heatherbrewer

Look at that amazing cover!

Getting back on topic, this was a great series. Personally, I think that first one was the best. The plot for this book isn’t stretched out or dragged on, it’s short and sweet. I wasn’t a fan of the one dry spot right in the middle of the book where you weren’t sure if Vlad’s teacher was on his side or on another side. I’m sure he was there to create doubt and suspense, but really, he just annoyed me. 

This is a good starter into paranormal books. I hate almost all paranormal YA fiction and ALL YA paranormal romance, but this book wasn’t bad. 4 stars. Plus, I really liked Vlad as a character. He feels like a real 8th grader, and he has a certain love and loyalty towards the people he cares about. He’s not full of himself, and he’s not sure if he really wants to be a vampire. He grows a lot in this story, and I appreciated seeing that.

This book had bits of humor mixed in that made me smile, and I was glad to have read it.

pg count for the hardback: 172

Series: The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod

Leave a Reply

