Wonder by R.J. Palacio

August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?

This book has the same affect that an amazing fact has. MIND BLOWN.

Four is the only number with the same value as it’s letter count.

Or

Forty is the only number with it’s letters in alphabetical order. 

Or, if you aren’t a word person:

Mind-Blown-random-33421446-640-601

(Why is it a computer and not a piece of math homework?)

This is not my favorite special needs book. I’ll own up to that right now. Out of My Mind by Rebecca Stead is my favorite special needs book. Nevertheless, this was a pretty amazing book. It beats you up the way only a contemporary book can. Screw good for teenagers, good for kids, this is a great book for all ages, but especially for kids. I think that if and when kids read special needs books, and it touches them, it has a real effect on them. It makes them re-think how they treat people. The prejudice that they throw around like it’s a toy. It’s not a toy, it’s a weapon people use against each other, and it hurts other people.

I loved this book. It’s humor, story and heart-warming story touched me. I was glad I read it. It’s hard enough to be a kid, but when you have a severe facial deformity that brings out the love and hate in people, it raises all the stakes for people as whole. It’s when you see people like this that the big question of humanity and how we treat others comes out. It’s surprising how cruel adults can be, but it’s even more surprising how cruel kids can be.

Auggie is heartwarming, funny and understanding. He takes a look at the world in a different way as everyone else, and his perspective really impressed me.

It’s okay, I know I’m weird-looking, take a look, I don’t bite. Hey, the truth is, if a wookie started going to school all of a sudden, I’d be curious, I’d probably stare a bit! And if I was walking with Jack or Summer, I’d probably whisper to them: Hey, there’s the wookie. And if the wookie caught me saying that, he’d know I wasn’t trying to be mean. I was just pointing out the fact that he’s a wookie.

I really liked how this book was hold in narratives, but sometimes it was a little distracting trying to figure out or remember who was narrating at that one part you’re reading in. I was glad for new, fresh insight, and I really enjoyed this book because of it, but I think R.J. Palacio may have put too many narrators in. 4.15 stars.

pg count for the hardcover: 315

Leave a Reply

