The Land of Stories : The Wishing Spell

Hi everybody! I’m so sorry I haven’t posted for a while.  But I am newly inspired and will try to post more often now that I am on summer break.  I am so excited about this book review, I don’t even know where to begin!  The book that I’m reviewing today is hands-down the best book that I’ve ever read.  And the best part?  It’s a series!  That means that I will be doing more book reports on other books in this series. But here is my book review. Enjoy!

The Land of Stories : The Wishing Spell is by Chris Colfer.  The Wishing Spell is about a boy and a girl named Alex and Conner. Alex and Conner are bored of life. Their dad had passed away just a year earlier and their mother has had to work extra shifts to keep them on their feet. When their twelfth birthday comes around their grandma comes to celebrate and gives them a book full of classical fairy tales from their childhood.

 Alex stores the book in her room and awakes in the middle of the night to hear a  strange buzzing noise that seems to be coming from the book. Alex alerts Conner and together they go closer to the book only to be suddenly whisked into the magical fairytale world. They soon find that they’re only choice to ever get back home again is to go around Fairyland collecting items from the most hated villains in Fairyland to conduct a spell that would send them back home. Along the way they meet some of the famous fairytale characters that they practically grew up with. But the characters stories didn’t end at their happily ever afters. Who knew that Little Red Riding Hood would end up with her own kingdom, Queen Cinderella about to become a mother, Goldilocks a wanted fugitive. Will Conner and Alex ever see their mother or home again? Read this book to find out.

I really like this book because the excitement never ends. One minute your in a icy cold cave with Sea Witch, and one minute you’re relaxing by the fire in Little Red Riding Hood’s castle. Once you start reading it you can’t put it down. Before you know it you’ll be on your knees begging for the next book. This book is no doubt my favorite book in the whole universe. You haven’t read a good book until you read this.

 

2 thoughts on “The Land of Stories : The Wishing Spell

Leave a comment